Adrian and Sariyah…

Standard

Brother and sister? Friends? Coexistent inhabitants of the same household?
All I know is that from their earliest memories they had each other.

 Feb. 26, 2008- day after Sariyah came to us.
 Sariyah- 2 months, Adrian- 4 months

April 2008 

Her little heart broke when he left too.

November 2008- the last picture taken of Adrian before he was taken from our arms.
 Sariyah… kissing her Adrian

And when he returned…

Sept. 10, 2009- the day after Adrian returned to us.

 … It was as if 10 months had never passed.

September 2010

August 2011

And though they don’t play WITH each other as much as they used to, I was reminded today for a brief moment how long they have been in each other’s lives and that while their interests and personalities have changed greatly, they have a bond that has developed over the past 4 years.

  Today

I don’t know what that bond is called… All I know is that they are Adrian and Sariyah, twins that are 2 months apart, who can understand each other’s language better than anyone else, fight like cats and dogs, partners in many, many crimes here at home, each other’s first friends, giggle partners…

… with a bond that wasn’t made by blood; one that is stronger and deeper than any label.

About thefosteringlove

I love Jesus. I love my kids. I am a foster and adoptive mommy. For 4 years my life has been turned upside down and inside out by 8 kids- some who have stayed for forever (my boys were adopted in March 2011 and I was given custody of my daughter in 2010), some who have left our home but not our hearts... all to the glory of God, all for the call I've been given. In the spare moments of my life I sometimes find time to write down my thoughts and my heart... my heart that is working to foster love, hope and safety into every child who we welcome home. Currently I have 3 forever kiddos and one foster baby... it's a good life!

3 responses »

  1. Totally precious and heart stealing. The picture of their two sweet, sweet hands holding each other’s – I remember that picture and it brought tears to my eyes then and it did looking at it today. I sure do love those two kiddos with all my heart. I am so, so grateful to be their gamma.

Leave a Reply

